Music for the soul

It had been a long day.

Upset and exhausted, I felt annoyed at the world. I needed some alone time. I sat down on my bed, determined to divert my attention to something more pleasant.

But how to brighten up my mood? I looked around the room. Forget chocolate, there wasn’t a single sweet-tasting food product to be found. And stepping out of the room to get some would mean human interaction, which I did not want under any circumstances! Next, I turned my attention to the books stacked neatly on the shelf. With a jolt I realized that my favorite feel-good book was nowhere to be found. Saddened by the realization that I had left it at home, I looked around the room, more dazed and irritated than before.

Suddenly it struck me! The cure for all my troubles. I quickly turned off all the lights, put my earphones on and started listening to music with a volume high enough to drown the voices in my head. Happy music. Upbeat music. The kind of music that makes you forget all worries and sorrows, and carries you to a different world. That brings a smile to your face and a spring to your step. The kind of music that, if you close your eyes, makes you feel like your hair is flying in the wind, as it does in movies, even if there is no wind. The kind of music that makes you move to the beat in spite of yourself. That makes you feel happy. And beautiful. And loved.

The kind of music that gives you courage to face the world, every single day.

Music is food. Food for the soul.

 

 

P.S. In case you were wondering, my favourite book is  Chocolat by Joanne Harris.

Voice your views